Wednesday, June 30 The PET CT scan

Jon took me in early this morning to drink lots of nasty dye and radiactive fluid, and then a CT scan was taken of the rest of my body to discover where the cancer has settled.

The cancer has a small spot in my lymph nodes, small spot on my liver, a spot on the top of my spine in the neck and also down by my tail bone and hip.  Sounds bad, I know.   but Dr Clark, the radiation Dr said that these are all “SMALL” areas and the chemo therapy should be able to get them all.  He’d told me the other day that depending on how bad the results to this test were, they may have to speed up the radiation treatment, so they can begin chemo faster, but he said with these results we will keep the radiation at the same schedule (41/2 weeks of radiation).  I will then begin chemo therapy to shrink the lung tumor and the ones they found today.  I’m encouraged that we know what we are dealing with and the doctors are being positive I can be treated.

I plan to get a nice picture of Jon and I while I still have hair, then get a cute short hair cut so when it starts falling out, it won’t be so traumatic.  I’ll get to wear some fun wigs after that and play with scarves and hats.  See if you can recognize me!!

Thanks to all of you for your fasting, prayers, hugs, and encouragement.  I’ve needed everyone!!  Sure love you!  We can do this!!!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Wednesday, June 30 The PET CT scan

  1. Chalice says:

    Melanie, thanks for doing this blog so we know what is going on. I love you so much. I’m so sorry you have to go through this, but I know you are a strong, determined and courageous woman. I will see you soon.

  2. Pam says:

    We will be following your words with our hearts and prayers. Add some pictures of those new fashion statements you will be making. We love you.

  3. Jan Rawle says:

    I love you Melanie! I have been thinking about you nonstop. My prayers are with you. You are such an inspiration and example to me. Thanks for your wonderful comments on this blog. I can feel your grace, beauty, and great sense of humor in your words. I am here for you in every way possible.
    Love, Jan

  4. Cindy Wing says:

    Melanie,

    Go girl!!!! Let me recommend the pineapple flavor drink for your next CT Scan. Its my favorite. Keep up the positive thoughts. Your awesome! Love you.

    Cindy Wing

  5. Dina Driggs says:

    Dear Mel,

    Mary has kept me informed of all the new and pressing news of your cancer. Julie Woof sent me this blog address, which I feel such gratitude to have someplace to put my energies and worry for you. We have been praying for you endlessly in our family and personal prayers.

    I cannot begin to express my love for you and your family. If ever there was someone who could fight this fight, it is you and Jon and your children. You are a valiant warrior in the fight for truth and righteousness. I am positive you will win. Mary mentioned you had a lovely priesthood blessing and you are feeling very hopeful. Me too!

    I have called on several occasions, but no one is answering the phone when I call. I imagined that would be the case. Who wants to tell this story over and over again? I know I wouldn’t.

    If ever in your life you felt lonely, I am so happy it is not now. From the blog, it sounds like there are so many that have come to visit and help shoulder the pain and burden. I love you so.

    Dina

  6. Michelle Patterson says:

    Hi Melanie!! You are such an inspiration to me! You keep on fighting because we are fighting with you. Our thoughts and prayers are with you. I feel such peace when I pray for you and your family. I have faith that you will get through this and be such a great example to others! Love you, Michelle

  7. Jan Cannon says:

    We hope you and your family can feel the love that we have for you all. Our faith and prayers will be constant for you!

  8. Kristi says:

    I love that you have titled this blog “positive outlier.” That is what we are aiming for and praying for.

  9. Julie Markham says:

    Perhaps the spots are small, but the faith of the ward is enormous. Please know all of us love you and are praying for you and your family every day.

  10. Natalie says:

    Melanie, This blog is a wonderful idea! It’s so good to know that the spots are small and that the chemo can eradicate them. Yea! You are amazing and strong and I have no doubt that you can kick this! Love you tons. Nat

  11. beckyols says:

    Sounds like you have a good group of doctors that are ready to take care of you and kick this cancer! Thanks for keeping us updated.

    Melanie, you are in my thoughts and prayers.

  12. Sandy Bailey Walker says:

    Melanie:

    Char sent me a link to your blog – I am so sorry to hear about all that you’ve been through. I want you to know that your faith has always inspired me and I want to thank you for always being such a great example of how to love God. I will never forget the letter you wrote to me and after visiting you and spending the a few hours with you and your beautiful family. You are truly an amazing women and I pray that God continues to bless and heal you.

    Love always,

    Sandy

Leave a Reply

