Happy July 1!

Today so far has been an easier day, just a radiation treatment this morning. It only takes about five minutes and they use this “fencing helmet” thing which they bolt down to a table to to keep your head still.  It doesn’t hurt, but I am starting to feel fatigue a few hours after the process.  I actually welcome this desire to nap, sine sleeping has been difficult the last months.

When I got home from the radiation, I was tired, but I sat on my front porch enjoying the beautiful sunshine, and felt like a lucky princess as I watched two dear friends–Alyson and Mary  plant flowers in my yard.  My children jumped in to help them and I felt a little piece of heaven.  With good feelings like these, how can my body not fight off this crazy infection?!

I hope today is picture day with my husband to get the final shot with my hair.  Tomorrow I’ll get a cute short haircut and try to post a picture.

Summer is beautiful and I feel so grateful to enjoy the beauty of the world and the love and beauty of God’s angels surrounding me.  My heart is full.  Thanks to all of you!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Happy July 1!

  1. Minta Keller says:

    Melanie,
    I love your posts 🙂 You always lifted me up when I was around you and now you’re lifting me up while I’m in Washington! I will fast for you this Sunday. Michael will start his month-long field training in Alabama this saturday and will remember you in his prayers. We both care a lot for you and your family! It’s times like these that the sweet blessings of the gospel are magnified! I hope the hard and painful times go quickly and the sweet times filled with gratitude and the Spirit are prolonged. Michael’s Aunt has been fighting cancer for about a year now, she had a lot of fun with scarfs and wigs too! Michael shaved his head for her 🙂 She has 6 kids (5 under 18) and hopes to come out of this on top also. There’s gotta be a purpose to all of this cancer stuff, if anything, you are an inspiration to hundreds to fight and be grateful for what God has given us!
    Love to you and your family,
    Minta and Michael Keller
    if you want to see Michael’s aunt Sarah’s website, its:
    http://www.caringbridge.org/visit/sarahbertagnole

  2. Jennifer Asplund says:

    Melanie, I just heard the news and am in awe of your positive attitude and outlook! We had a woman in our ward with Stage 4 breast cancer and, after her treatments and a ward fast, she was found to be cancer free. Miracles happen all the time, but are always helped along with being positive. When I was stake camp director, we did a whole year centered around Phillipians 4:13: I can do all things through Christ which strengtheneth me. I love that scripture as I was really struggling with my health (heart, neuropathy, etc.) and it has continued to bolster me each day. Although this is hard, you are well on your way to beating it! You are in our thoughts and prayers 🙂

  3. Cristi says:

    Melanie, we love you and your family and are praying for you guys. We’ve been out of town and I just can’t believe all that is happening!! I’m so happy to have your blog to look forward to. You’re such a positive light and example to our ward and to the world. Love love you!!

  4. Tiffany Mason says:

    Thanks for starting this blog and for all those that contribute to it. It will be a great way to stay in touch, but to not have the family telling the story over and over again. Plus it will be a great journal for Melanie! We love you and our thoughts are prayers are continuously with you. You will fight this!

  5. Quin Swallow says:

    Melanie-

    Tiffany Strong pointed me to your Web site today, and the first thing I thought of is how kind you were at school, just a few weeks ago, offering your support and good wishes after my wife had her surgery … when you weren’t feeling well yourself. This is so unfair. You have shown others so much kindness, I hope it all comes back to you many times. You and your family deserve it … EVERYONE loves the Kaus! Our family will be thinking of you, and praying that you and your family will have all the strength and help you need. You’re the greatest … Hang in there!

    -Quin Swallow

  6. Julie Woffinden says:

    Dear Melanie,
    You are constantly in my thoughts, prayers & heart! Your positive “blogging” is inspirational to all of us. Watch for an email about our upcoming RS temple session:)
    xoxo Julie Woffinden

  7. Cindy Mason says:

    Your amazing! Love, love, love your wonderful attitude!!!

  8. girlsmama says:

    Dear Melanie,

    Tara shared with us on Tuesday the new trial you are facing. You are in our prayers and fasts.

    And on a side note, your children are gorgeous! And big!

    Thinking of you and yours, Jessica Ribble

  9. jacqui andreasen says:

    I don’t know if you remember me – I was Jacqui Hilton, now married to Dwayne andreasen. I am so inspired by your blog, your attitude and spirit. I will be praying for you and following your progress closely. Stay strong~!

  10. Kim Christensen says:

    Mel – I have no doubt that a couple of years ago when Jeff passed away, my family and I were included in your prayers. Today you and your family will be included in my daily prayers for as long as it takes. I have no doubt that you can “do hard things”. I will be thinking of you often and please – really and truly – I am close by. Let me know if there is any way I can help! XO to you and your family!

  11. annewolsey says:

    Melanie,
    I was reading my e-mail today and went to the site about you and your battle with cancer. I am inspired by your positive outlook. Many times I have seen you at school,
    but never had the chance to teach any of your children and get to know you better.
    I have just had the clear impression you do well at whatever you do! May you continue to be blessed with strength, and those caring for you will be inspired to do the right things that will help you. May your family be blessed also at this time.
    My mother passed away this past January 2nd, at age 87 years old. For the past 20 years she had battled serious health issues, none the least, was melanoma which started with a mole on her left ankle. By the time the biopsy was done, the cancer had spread. She fought such valiant fights. This particular one went on for eight years. She went through some different treatments, all experimental, because there
    wasn’t a known treatment that worked back then, but she made it! She won that battle. As a family we were very blessed to have her and her inspiration in our lives.
    You and your sweet family will be in my thoughts and prayers. Each day is a gift and a blessing.
    Sincerely,
    Anne Wolsey

Leave a Reply

