Monday, July 5, The Day before surgery

Kai - Newport Beach, CA

Kalani, Kawena, Jon

I would love to send a personal reply to each of you, but…… I have read your words of encouragement, and I’m soaking up the healing power of your love and faith.  Thank you, Thank you.  Included some pictures of my inspiration to be happy and grateful.

Tomorrow about 11:00 am I will check into UVRMC for surgery.  A Thoracic surgeon will be doing a procedure called a pleuradesis, and getting a large biopsy section of the tumor from my lung so it can be analyzed for the best treatment options.  The pleuradesis is a procedure to irritate the lining of the lung, then a chest tube will be put in to drain fluid, and the lung will be adhered to the chest wall.  This will take a few days to happen and heal from, thus the hospital stay, but the result will be the fluid will not collect around the right lung and keep collapsing it.  I should be much more comfortable after healing from this procedure.  The surgeon assures me it will not affect my ability to be active in the future.

Keala

I know the Lord is in charge and have such great faith in the blessings I have received.  Reading the scriptures in John yesterday, I just kept marking everything with a red pencil.  John 16:24 “Hitherto have ye asked nothing in my name: ask, and ye shall receive, that your joy may be full.”

And then John 16 verse 33: These things have I spoken unto you, that in me ye might have peace.  In the world ye shall have tribulation; but be of good cheer; I have overcome the world.” Add an Image

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Monday, July 5, The Day before surgery

  1. Cousin Steve says:

    Melanie,

    I’m following your blog with a lump in my throat, and feel like someone punched me in the stomach…

    But then I read your comments, and those of your friends and family, and I begin to catch a glimpse your inner and outer strength. I can’t wait to watch the miracles unfold.

    Great pics of you and your family. Especially like the Newport beach pics because that is where our family vacations every year. Hang in there Melanie. You look fit and awesome!!! Love the new “do”. The Connolly family will continue to remember you in our fasts and our prayers.

    Tim and all, thanks for the blog and keeping it so up to date.

    Love ya,

    Steve

  2. Heather(Jess) Fenn says:

    Good Luck tomorrow. I will keep in in my Prayer. My Brother Duane went to the temple this past Sat & he put u name on the prayer list. I asked him to. I know u will come thought it fine & with flying colors! Love all the pictures. Keala is a beautiful girl. she is beautiful just like her mother

  3. Tiffany Strong says:

    There is so much love and prayers being sent your way and to your family. My Mama is watching out for you too, I promise. Faith is the power that God gave us here on Earth to make sure we can get through the really hard things, and your faith shines with strength Melanie.

  4. Elizabeth Passey says:

    Melanie, I will be thinking and praying about you tomorrow. Thank you for the blog, I love to hear what is going on and to see all your cute pictures. I especially love your hair, so cute! Love Liz

  5. Paula Hatch says:

    Melanie,
    You are a very special lady and I want you to know that my thoughts and prayers are with you and your wonderful family. Thanks for being such a great example to all of us!

  6. Lindsay Rasmussen says:

    We are praying for you and your family here in Brazil! Good luck with the surgery! P.S. Your haircut is adorable. I love short hair.

  7. Monica says:

    Melanie our thoughts and prayers are with you and your family.  I can’t wait to get back to Utah so I can come visit with you before we have to move. Thank you for sharing your blog, your pure faith is such an touching example to me.

  8. Jessie says:

    You are amazing! I have been thinking, praying and fasting for you this weekend! I hope everything goes well with the surgery today! Please keep us posted!

    Love you!

    Jess

  9. Lisa Parkinson says:

    Melanie, you and your family are in my thoughts and prayers. I hope the surgery goes well and you recover quickly. I love your pictures and your positive outlook on the journey. The new haircut is darling and bald will be beautiful too! Please let me know if I can do anything for you. I know what it is like to hear that stage IV diagnosis and to worry about cancer spreading. There is hope…just take one thing at a time. Recover first and don’t feel bad about resting. I didn’t hold still very well and it prolonged my healing time. Then when you get well enough for your other treatments, I have lots of hats and scarves if you would like to use them. I am also happy to make you scarves in your favorite colors/patterns if you would like them. I couldn’t find scarves that worked to cover bald heads well so I made a lot of them. Please take good care of yourself and know you are loved! And please let me know if I can do anything for you or your family!

  10. Chalice says:

    You’re in the hospital right now checking in and my thoughts and prayers are with you. Thanks for sharing the pictures of Kae, Kawena, Kalani, Keala & Jon — you’ve got such a great family and they love you so much. They adore you.

  11. Chalice says:

    I noticed I spelled Kai’s name wrong in the previous message — sorry, Kai!

    You’re in the hospital right now checking in and my thoughts and prayers are with you. Thanks for sharing the pictures of Kai, Kawena, Kalani, Keala & Jon — you’ve got such a great family and they love you so much. They adore you.

  12. Cousin Carrie says:

    Hey there Mel! I am following your site, and feel closer and closer to you each time I read. My little family and I have joined in the last two fasts for your strength, endurance, and faith in your healing. Your name is whispered from the mouths of my children as they pray for your little family whom they know little or nothing about… they only know that you are family, and that you are hurting, and that their mother loves you so dearly! Hope the healing is speedy with today’s surgery, and that your strength is profoundly rejuvinated so you can kick this stinky cancer in the pitutti. Love and smiles sent your way… and prayers galore!!!!

    Love, Carrie

  13. Shawn O'Neal says:

    Melanie,
    I think we have only met once at last year’s Christmas activity but I wanted you to know that when I heard of your situation, my heart melted for you and your family. I wish you the best in your treatment plan. I know how important family and friends are when these events unfold in our lives. I add my prayers to the many supplications being sent heavenward for you and your family.

    Warmest regards and wishes,
    Shawn

  14. Lisa says:

    Melanie, you looked beautiful last night. I really love you with short hair! Know that you are constantly in our thoughts and prayers. You are young and strong and you’re a fighter. Let us know what we can do to help.

  15. Connie Livingston says:

    Dear dear Melanie,
    Please rest and know that you are loved more than words can say. You have always been such a light to me, so positive, beautiful, inspiring and caring to everyone you meet. Sometimes “everyone” is an exaggeration, but not in your case, it is absolutely true! Let those you have cared for so well take care of you right now and do your very best not to worry, but remember that those you love are also in Heavenly Father’s hands just as you are. See you soon.

  16. Chalice says:

    Anxious to hear how the surgery went. Melanie, I love you and I think about you every day. You are strong and your healthy cells will help you heal.

  17. Edie Payne says:

    Melanie and family! We (the Payne’s) love you and appreciate your friendship, love and courage! Your positive outlook is an inspiration to us. Our prayers, and peace be to you and your family! Melanie you are one tough cookie. I have missed being on the sidelines of soccer with you since the team split, but before, you inspired me to be happy and motivated even through hard times.

  18. Heather(Jess) Fenn says:

    Hope your Surgery went well & That u r recovering well. Don’t over do. U R in my
    Prayers. Know that u r loved.

    Heather 🙂

  19. Katie Andersen says:

    Melanie, You are so beautiful. I am so glad that you are doing the blog. It is so nice to be able to know what is going on without having ask anyone else. You and your family are in our thoughts and prayers.

Leave a Reply

