Radon Test Results, July 26, 2010

Good news on the radon test. It came back at 1.5.  Levels over 4 are high, so I our home is ok.   Peace of mind.

Many more blessings today.  Grandma Kau took Kawena shopping and spoiled her with school shoes, and me with lots of Costco yummy food and a recipe for a great “radiation muscle weakness bath.”  Thanks also to Phyllis Rosen and Alecia Raymond for spending time with me.  Alecia helped me exchange some running shoes for the correct size–thanks to my wonderful Bishop and Julie Smith.

Scripture comes from Kristi Agle’s lesson on sunday and is from the Book of Mormon.

“And if ye do always remember me, ye shall have my Spirit to be with you.” 3 Nephi 18:7

Tomorrow is my follow-up appointment with the thoracic surgeon, but I am healing up just great from the operation and my lung feels much better!!  –No more fluid build up! I’ll get an xray tomorrow, and I’m thinking things will look good–gonna get those running lungs back!!

We meet with the oncologist, Nathan Rich,  on Thursday–same day radiation ends– to put a treatment plan together for the clinical trial.  I’m excited!!

OK, this is really sentimental, so if you don’t like that kind of stuff…stop reading now…you have the facts.  But I just need to record this wonderful therapy session I had with my darling husband. Background– Jon and I met when we were 15 in Philadelphia when Stake Activities and dances were the only time we got to see each other.  We spent our 15-17 year old selves waiting for Stake Activities and dances.  Of course, once we were 16 we dated some, but we still loved those dances!!!  A while ago Jon bought A Paul Davis CD–old seventies music that they still played for slow dances in the eighties.  Jon put together 4 songs PAul Davis–“Sweet Life,” “I go Crazy,” “Do right” and Lonestar’s “Amazed”  He danced with me in the kitchen, and it made me feel like I was 15 again at those Stake dances!!  It was the most wonderful healing therapy.  We realized that was 30 years ago we danced to those songs.   Thirty wonderful years of loving my sweetheart.   Sentimental I know, but wonderful healing therapy… if you can find some favorites with your sweetheart, stop for a dance in the kitchen….you will love it.

Love and affection to all of you!!—Melanie

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Radon Test Results, July 26, 2010

  1. Arlene says:

    I love you Melanie! Thank you for lifting me in the midst of your tribulations! You are in my thoughts and prayers daily. I am sending positive faith exercised on your behalf and light to your great mind, body and spirit. I loved the story of you and Jon, he is a wonderful person, just like you.

  2. Michele says:

    I almost cried reading your little love story. Hard to believe it’s been 30 years! I’m so glad that you have such a loving relationship with Jon. It made me believe that a good relationship is possible, even though for years I didn’t believe it could happen for me. Now it has, and I am so happy! I love you so much, beautiful!!!

  3. Carl Clegg says:

    I have to admit that I didn’t recognize Paul Davis. So, I had my secretary make a Paul Davis station on Pandora and we’ve been groovin’ out all day to the 70’s hits — good stuff. Love from DeLite, Carl, and family.

  4. Monica Barlow says:

    Melanie that is one of the sweetest things I have heard!! Thank you for sharing that moment with us, you and John are always such good examples to us. I’m sending my love, prayers and positive thoughts to you and your darling family.

  5. …that part about dancing brought happy little tears to my eyes. Melanie, you and Jon have long been the example of what I wanted my marriage to be like. Now that I’m newly married and have such a wonderful husband, I am utterly grateful for dreams that really do come true. Thanks for leading the way – I hope in 30 years we can be as in love as you two are!

Leave a Reply

