Swimming was Great Physical Therapy! July 28, 2010

Today was a beautiful day!  Thanks to Tammy Johnson for taking me to radiation and we even did a little grocery shopping together!

I can’t believe I missed my aerobics friends, again.  I was so disappointed!!   If you can believe it…Keala had taken me to go pay a traffic ticket and traffic school.  One of the last days I actually drove in June, I got a speeding ticket!  so I will be attending traffic school on Tuesday—oh well.

My sister Colette, Carter, and their little boy Taylor just arrived from North Dakota and I have two more sisters coming to visit from AZ with their families tomorrow.  I am so grateful for Tim and Kim who are hosting everyone!!

I went swimming today for physical therapy.  The doctor recommended I get in a pool when I described my muscle weakness.  I get down, but I can’t get up, unless I have something to pull myself up on.  My legs just can’t do it on their own.  The muscle loss is from steroids and the radiation, so I should be getting some muscles back soon!  Thanks to the Agles for letting me swim.

I reread the beautiful book the Young Women in our ward made for me.  It touched my soul with the scriptures, quotes, and music  they shared with me.  This ones from Elizabeth Nemelka from the Doctrine and Covenants.  “Wherefore be of good cheer, and do not fear, for I am with you, and will stand by you, and ye shall bear record of me, even Jesus Christ that I am the son of the living God, that I was, that I am, and that I am to come. “D&C 68:6  I feel The Saviors love and testify of him!!

Xray of Melanie's lung. It's open!! Hurray!

This is a x-ray of my Lungs.  The surgery worked and the lung is open and not collecting fluid.  You can see the cancer in the right lung….but we’re going after it!!!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Swimming was Great Physical Therapy! July 28, 2010

  1. Carl Clegg says:

    Swimming is good. We check your blog daily and are encouraged by good signs. To complement the wonderful scripture on good cheer, Marvin J. Ashton (who I met on my mission in Guatemala) said: “The fruits of cheerfulness lie within each of us, side by side with our resolution, priorities, and desires. They will never come from without. They cannot be purchased or stolen. They are above price.” Love from DeLite, myself, and all of our kids.

  2. DeLite says:

    I am so glad. It is so frustrating when you can’t breathe. I remember Mom saying that was the scariest feeling. I have often felt that swimming was one of the best exercises around. Keep at it. We’re rooting for you! Lots of love! DeLite

Leave a Reply

