Gearing up for Clinical Trial, July 29, 2010

Finished radiation today. Hurray!! It was cute the  radiation office always plays calming music while I go through the therapy, but today, they played Lionel Richie’s “Celebrate Good Times,” and then gave me a certificate and bottle of sparkling cider.

the radiation therapy crew

We met with Dr Rich, the oncologist, and his clinical trial nurse today.  We have to wait 28 days after radiation to start the clinical trial, and an important element is that the brain is clear.  I can’t start the trial until the brain is clear.  I will get an MRI to check the brain on August 27.  Am I too bold to ask everyone to please join our family in praying for the miracle of a clear brain scan?  Then we’ll be able to  get started soon after the 27th of August.

My sister Michelle, her husband Richard, and her two boys Gray and Tanner arrived from AZ today.  My sister Heidi and her family will arrive late tonight.  Everyone will go swimming with me tonight for my physical therapy.

Today my quote comes from the book the young women gave me.  “Fear not I am with thee. Oh, be not dismayed.  For I am thy God and will still give thee aid.  I’ll strengthen thee, help thee, and cause thee to stand, upheld by my righteous omnipotent hand.”

Love it!!!  He is causing me to stand–literally.  I have such faith in a loving Father in Heaven and in the redeeming power of the Savior.  I feel their omnipotent hand daily.

Love to all.  Thanks for sticking with me….Melanie


This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Gearing up for Clinical Trial, July 29, 2010

  1. Tiffany Strong says:

    Always sticking with you, always. Love the picture! Thanks for posting that.

  2. Kelley Christensen says:

    Our prayers are with you and your family always, always! Love you so much, Kelley and company. P.S. you look beautiful!

  3. Debbie says:

    Dear Mel
    I would love for you to use our pool and if you need a swim buddy to feel more secure I would love to be your swim buddy! We are gone till the 10th, but our pool is your pool so please use it.
    Here is a scripture that has brought me great comfort in uncertain times in my life, it is Psalms 28:1-2, “the Lord is my light and my salvation:whom shall I fear? The Lord is the strength of my life; of whom shall I be afraid?”
    This scripture helped to remind me that my Heavenly Father is in control of my life and is mindful of me. Being fearful and afraid only separates us from feeling His love and tender care. He has a plan for us and if we are aware we can see how he is blessing us openly through tender mercies and through others compassion. Maybe we don’t see miracles until we desperately need them! And they were there all along we were just too busy to see them.
    I love you Mel hope it’s a good day! Deb:)

    • Deb,

      Thank you so much… you are so good to me. I actually have been so weak, that the Agles pool right across the street has been about all I can manage. Thanks for your inspiring scriptures and for thinking of me….Love you!! Melanie

  4. DeLite says:

    Beautiful picture. Keala is such a beautiful daughter and I’m sure a big support. Glad to finish up with radiation! We are with you every step of the way. We will fast for a clear brain scan this Sunday and continue to pray for it daily. The effects of the radiation can take a few weeks to accumulate from what I have read. We had a brother in our ward who had brain cancer. They were able to shrink his tumor almost completely through radiation. He went on a mission with his wife a few years ago (after they were able to get the cancer under control) and they are now back home in Orem (he retired shortly before he was diagnosed with the cancer). So, keep your hopes up! We love you! DeLite

Leave a Reply

