Life Can be Tough, Women are Tougher!

Grandma Kau, Kau family, Izu, Whiting families

Made it through traffic school today—gotta celebrate little victories!  Tiffany Roush Mehner gave me a magnet with the blog title today…  Life can be tough, women are tougher!-–Absolutely, I felt like a tough woman today!

Also had a great appointment with my regular doctor today who is a DO.  He was so great to talk to about my overall health and wellness. He tested my thyroid levels, all vitamin levels, and for any food allergies. He suggested a diet that creates an alkaline environment since cancer only survives in an acidic environment.  This means mostly vegetarian but including fish.  Only 5% of diet should be animal protein–milk products, meat.  Diet needs to be rich in fruits, vegetable, beans, and legumes, and lots of antioxidants.  Only purified water as tap water has chlorine which is acidic.  This is actually the food that sounds the best to me right now.  It’s interesting how I’ve lost my sweet tooth–HUGE for me, and it has been hard to eat meat.  I know I have to eat enough calories, so will be supplementing with boosts…but I’m excited to try this!

I feel a little stronger everyday…I’m so grateful for that!!

Here’s a simple scripture for today that came on a card from Jennifer Heldenbrand–Melia Kawena’s teacher for 6th grade..  “This is the day which the Lord had made, let us rejoice and be glad in it.” –Psalms 118:24  I am glad for this day. …more tender mercies and learning.   I’m including the picture of our dinner last night at the Kau Mapleton home.  The picture includes Grandma Kau (Grandpa taking picture).  The Izu family(Jon’s brother in-laws), and the Whiting family from Mapleton.  We had a great time together!  Love you all!!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Life Can be Tough, Women are Tougher!

  1. Tiffany Roush Mehner says:

    You are the toughest and best woman I know! Love you Melanie!

  2. Hi Mel….I’m glad to be home…..thanks again for sharing your chocolate…..you’re a great woman! Here’s one of my favorite Hinckley quotes….you know how I love that man.

    “It isn’t as bad as you sometimes think it is. It all works out. Don’t worry. I say that to myself every morning. It all works out in the end. Put your trust in God, and move forward with faith and confidence in the future. The Lord will not forsake us. He will not forsake us. If we will put our trust in Him, if we will pray to Him, if we will live worthy of His blessings, He will hear our prayers.”
    — Gordon B. Hinckley

Leave a Reply

