I Know that My Redeemer Lives!

You've seen the quilt, but I wanted to include the picture with my handsome husband as well.

I have been so blessed by all the people around me!  It’s been great to have my sister Heidi here all week just doing things, as other sisters (and friends I call sisters).   I was actually thinking it was awfully kind of my mother to have 10 children because siblings have been great, but I also have so many sisters in my own community–all Christlike friends that strengthen my faith in God and in my Redeemer.

Yesterday in church we sang as the closing hymn. “I know That My Redeemer Lives.” (hymn#139 LDS hymn book).  Of course, I couldn’t sing without crying.   I also couldn’t choose between the 1st and 2nd verses, so I have to include both.

1st: “I know that my Redeemer lives, what comfort this sweet sentence gives!  He lives, he lives, who once was dead.  He lives, my every living Head.  He lives to bless me with his love. He lives to plead for me above. He lives my hungry soul to feed.  He lives to bless in time of need.

2nd: “He lives to grant me rich supply. He lives to guide me with his eye. He lives to comfort me when faint. He lives to hear my soul’s complaint.  He lives to silence all my fears.  He lives to wipe away my tears.  He lives to calm my troubled heart.  He lives all blessing to impart.

I feel so richly blessed by my Redeemer and all of you!.   Love, Melanie

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to I Know that My Redeemer Lives!

  1. julie smith says:

    Melanie, Thanks for your beautiful words and spirit. They inspire me to be a better person every day. You are truly a remarkable daughter of God ! Your faith and determination bring joy and peace to all of us sisters (and brothers) around you. It is a privilege to call you a friend. Much love and blessings. Julie

  2. Natalie says:

    Gosh Melanie, your blog has 10,093 hits. You’re becoming famous! The world needs more famous people like you who are good, kind, strong in spirit, and inspiring. I am so proud of you for the great attutude you have and how you are using this challenge for good! I love you!!

  3. Tim says:

    Hi Mel…..missed seeing you yesterday…….might miss you again today…….running around doing “stuff”. I hope you know how much we all love you and KNOW you are going to get through this. Here’s another quote from my favorite man ever:

    “Faith in something greater than ourselves enables us to do what we have said we’ll do, to press forward when we are tired or hurt or afraid, to keep going when the challenge seems overwhelming and the course is entirely uncertain.” – Gordon B. Hinckley

Leave a Reply

