It’s not all Bad News!

We went in on Friday to discuss the results with the oncologist, and he said, the brain was not clear and in fact had some new spots.  They were all small, but there were so many the targeted radiation–cyber knife is not an option, and there is no further radiation that can be done on the brain.  This disqualifies me from the clinical trial. I also talked to the DR about swollen ankles and a tightness in my chest and asked if I could get my heart checked out.  The EKG done the night before was good, but he ordered an Echo cardiogram.  They found enough fluid a around my heart to suggest surgery to remove it, so as not to damage the heart.  I went in to surgery Friday afternoon.  I had a tube in my side and into my heart lining that was very painful that night.  The nurse kept giving me IV morphine, sometimes more than once an hour.   The DR took the tube out the next morning and we waited to see how I would do, but the pain was bad enough that I couldn’t get a full breath of air.  (Besides all that morphine made me sleep all day.)  My oxygen never went over 87 or 88.  They won’t send you home without oxygen unless it’s over 90, so I came home with oxygen.

Ok, the good news is that I get to start early next week on one of the medicines in the clinical trial because it is FDA approved for this cancer.  It does go directly after the cancer cells, and there is some indication that it even crosses the blood/brain barrier.  So it is possible that the medicine could make the tumors in the brain shrink.I figure–why not!! So we are looking for that rather large miracle.  If we can get rid of enough of them, maybe other direct target radiation is a possibility.  I’m encouraged that we will finally begin treatment on the rest of my body, and will start feeling some better.

I will admit Friday was a hard day for my husband and kids, but there are always setbacks when you deal with serious disease.  I still feel if we do all in our power, then the Lord will bless us!  Tiffany Roush Mehner sent me a quote that applies to how I feel today.

“Just when all seems to be going right, challenges often come in multiple doses simultaneously.  When those trials are not consequences of your disobedience, they are evidence that the Lord feels you are prepared to grow more (see Proverbs 3:11-12).  He therefore gives you experiences that stimulate growth, understanding, and compassion which polish you for your everlasting benefit.  To get you from where you are to where He wants you to be requires a lot of stretching, and that generally entails discomfort and pain . . . .Your Father in Heaven and His Beloved Son loves you perfectly.  They would not require you to experience a moment more of difficulty than is absolutely needed for your personal benefit or for that of those you love.” Richard G. Scott

We feel the stretching and have faith that we can still expect miracles.  —Love to all–Melanie

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to It’s not all Bad News!

  1. Carl Clegg says:

    We appreciate your update and want you to know that we have been praying extra hard for you lately. Yesterday I was reading in 1 Thessalonians Chapter 5 and came across some moving verses: “But let us, who are of the day, be sober, putting on the breastplate of faith and love; and for an helmet, the hope of salvation. For God hath not appointed us to wrath, but to obtain salvation by our Lord Jesus Christ, Who died for us, that, we should live together with him. Wherefore comfort yourselves together, and edify one another, even as also ye do.” I guess that’s advice mostly for us who are called on to rally around you to buoy you up the best we can. Please know that there are a lot of people who are thinking of you and praying for you daily.

  2. Angela Higgins says:

    Someone sent me this quote today and I thought I would share it. I love it!

    Our lives are the only meaningful
    expression of what we believe and in
    Whom we believe. And the only real wealth
    for any of us, lies in our faith.
    – Gordon B. Hinckley

    You have tremendous faith !

  3. Chalice says:

    So glad they were able to take some pressure off your heart. Sorry to hear the brain was not clear — but so impressed that you are keeping your spirits up. You are simply amazing. Melanie, I love you. Take care my sweet sister. I know it’s hard for you to relax — but you’ve got to in order for your body to heal.

  4. Jon and Melanie,
    Our prayers are with you. We know this thing can be beaten. God moves in mysterious ways. You are right, It’s not all bad news. Who knows but what this medication will do the job better than the treatment you won’t be able to do. God is with us.

  5. Michele says:

    I love you and adore you, Melanie! Can’t stop thinking about you and your perfect family. If anyone can make it through this and come out swinging it’s you!

  6. Jessie says:

    Melanie I am so sorry about that news! All I can think about right now is we have to have faith and submit to the will of the Lord! We just don’t know what the will of the Lord is right now! He may have a different path to cure this cancer than the clinical trials. We just don’t know and can only have the faith that it will all be okay. Staying positive always helps and i’m totally amazed by your attitude. You are truly an inspiration to everyone around you! I’m praying for you and for your family morning and night and I know the Lord has heard my prayers before. I love you Melanie!

Leave a Reply

