Mighty Miracles and Boxing Gloves

Boxing on a hard day with Alyson

Alyson Freedman came to see me last night right before the Saturday Stake Conference meeting and I cried on her shoulder a little bit about a miserable day yesterday.  (Reminder–Melanie do not forget to take your nausea medicine!!)  she saw me and ran home to get the boxing gloves–said she was saving them for when a really needed them.   I’m so grateful for good and loving friends.  She gave me a card and a scripture that inspires her–and me as well.   In the Book of Alma in the Book of Mormon, Ammon glories in the Lord after converting so many Lamanites.  “Yea, I know that I am nothing, as to my own strength, I am weak; therefore I will not boast of myself, but I will boast of my God, for in his strength I can do all things, yea, behold, many mighty miracles we have we wrought in this land, for which we will praise his name forever.” Alma 26:12   I am so grateful for examples in the scriptures of faith, miracles, and love of God.

My incredible husband has been so patient and loving as well.  I’m grateful I was so sick on a day he could be with me.  Tomorrow is a Doctor appointment with the radiation doctor, and then Wednesday with the oncologist, Nathan Rich.

My hair is growing s l o w l y.  This is a time when dark hair is probably better.  Just like blonde (and redhaired) babies stay bald so long.  i’m ok with that–as long as I’m not nauseated!  Modern medicine may not be perfect, but I’m grateful for it anyway!  Love to all–Melanie

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Mighty Miracles and Boxing Gloves

  1. Renee Thomas says:

    You’re so beautiful! Here’s a quote for the day from Pres. Monson:
    “The history of the Church in this, the dispensation of the fulness of times, is replete with the experiences of those who have struggled and yet who have remained steadfast and of good cheer as they have made the gospel of Jesus Christ the center of their lives. This attitude is what will pull us through whatever comes our way. It will not remove our troubles from us but rather will enable us to face our challenges, to meet them head on, and to emerge victorious.” (Ensign, May 2009, p. 89).

  2. elisha daines says:

    It was fantastic to see you Melanie. You are as beautiful as you have ever been. You have a great strength that I admire in you. Keep putting up the big fight. I wish I could be there for your run/walk. In my cass it would definitely be a walk/crawl. Even in extreme pain you have a happy face that I take courage from. You have a fantastic family and support system all around you. I will continue to pray for you and your family. Enjoy the mountains for me, I really miss them. I love you, Elisha

Leave a Reply

