Mexican Food and brotherly love

My brother Joe and his wife Melissa making Mexican food for us

The doctor appointment with the radiation PA went better than I expected.  She was more positive, saying that we generally don’t even do the mri for threee months after radiation because it’s continuing to work.  She noticed many of the tumors in my brain looked like they are dying from the  inside out–(which is what they do).  They each were see-through in the middle, which means there is reason to believe they will either be inactive, or reabsorbed into the body. Yes there are new tumors, but the Tarceva may get those–I say, go get ’em!  I will get another MRI in early November to see what progress has been made.

My Sweet brother Joe (the sibling just younger than me) is here visiting from AZ with his wife, Melissa. It’s great to have them here–cooking great food.  Joe is a nurse, so a wealth of great medical advice.  The bad news at the DR this morning was I’m still losing weight.  She gave me some medicine to try to stimulate my appetite–yucky stuff.  I’m sipping a 30 grams of protein nutrition drink right now!–Eating is going to be my job for a little while I guess.  I can feel the Tarceva working on the bad stuff in my body, but I think it’s also causing the nausea to be much worse-that’s ok.  I think my body will adjust to it.

I got a cute card from Cindy mason with a quote from John Wayne, “Courage is being scared to death, but saddling up anyway!”

Yesterday Kalani spent some time with Julie Staples learning about music therapy on the harp.  Julie helped her put together a binder of hymns to play for me.  Thank you so much Julie–I cried over the beautiful hymns in the book and your thoughtfulness!  I’ve been telling Kalani that when she plays it’s therapy for me, not realizing there is science behind it.  I know my body just feels it!  She played through a good part of the book yesterday, and I loved it.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Mexican Food and brotherly love

  1. Natalie says:

    Melanie, you are incredible and inspiring. I admire you so much. I’m glad to hear that the Tarceva is working. I know how you love peaches and I’ve got a tree full in my yard that are almost ready. I can’t wait to share them with you.

    Love you lots!

  2. Tiffany Strong says:

    My Dad is coming out in October to Visit, he is bringing you a PIN from my mom’s foundation for you to wear. It is a “light up the room” foundation pin. It is to remember the light that you have and the light that is growing everyday inside you. It is a memory of the great fight my mom put up, and the one you are fighting right now. You are so strong Melanie, you amazing me everyday. Your blog lifts me up and I can’t wait to see the new post each day. I love you, I love your pictures, and I want you to know you are always in my prayers.

  3. Heather Fenn says:

    i am glad to hear the medication is working. WOW I haven’t seen JOE in a while more like years! It takes me bach to yester year. that is so cool his is a nurse. I love reading your blog, U inspire me. I KNOW U can win this fight. U R an incrediable woman.

    You have a very loving family also. I loved the pic of the mountains! I miss them so very much.

    U R in my prayers every day!1

    Love u melanie

  4. DeLite says:

    Great picture of Joe and Melissa. Glad to hear they are making you some yummy Mexican food. Hope that you can enjoy it. I know the music is therapy not only ofr the patient, but also for the musician. Kalani and Keala will benefit just as much as you will and it will help them work through some of their emotions of this year. Never, never, never give up! I love you! DeLite

Leave a Reply

