A Blessing from an Apostle

Jon’s parents are good friends with Elder Ballard, as he was the one that sustained Dad when he was Stake President.  We have met the Ballards on other occasions, but this was a special one.  We went up to his office in Salt Lake and visited about Jon’s parents mission and also about my condition.  Elder Ballard offered to give me a blessing and, of course, I accepted.  he gave me a beautiful healing blessing in which he promised I would be given time in this life to accomplish those things I felt I needed to.   —I still have a lot I feel like I need to do, so with the miracle of healing…I’ll be around for a while!  I am fortunate to have received two apostalic blessings.  I also received one from Elder Andersen when I was first diagnosed.  These blessings along with the blessings from my faithful husband and Tim,  are truly sustaining me and increasing my faith!  

The medicine continues to work.  I am getting stronger, the cancer not affecting my lungs quite so much–no hacking cough, but I am extremely fatigued.  I also have a little bit of the acne I was promised…just around my nose, and very dry skin…but I understand it could be worse, so I feel lucky.

I was reading in Elder Uchtdorf’s book–The Remarkable Soul of a Woman. He said, “I have simple faith (me too),  I believe that as you are faithful and diligent in keeping the commandments of God, as you draw closer to Him…things will work together for your good.  I believe that as you immerse yourself in the work of the Father… God will encircle you in the arms of His love. Discouragement, inadequacy, and weariness will give way to a life of meaning, grace, and fulfillment.  As a spirit daughter of our Heavenly Father, happiness is your heritage… Lift up your chin, walk tall.  God loves you! Elder Uchtdorf shared the scripture in D&C 90:24 “Search diligently, pray always, and be believing, and all things shall work together for your good, if ye walk uprightly and remember the covenant wherewith ye have covenanted one with another.”

One week until the “Miles for Melanie Run/walk.  I’m excited and so grateful to Alyson for organizing it, and getting Kalani, Catie, and Amanda Agle to help.  Thanks to Ron Raymond for making the signs, and for anyone else who is working to make this a success.  I am blessed by my circle of friends and love each of you!…Melanie

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to A Blessing from an Apostle

  1. Darlene says:

    You looked really great yesterday when I saw you walking to your house. I hope you are feeling as good as you look!

    Brooklynn says her own prayers now and keeps praying for her stuffed “cow,”… or so I thought. I just realized she’s praying for you.

  2. Julie Markham says:

    What a great experience to share with us!

  3. DeLite says:

    Blessings can and do come true. Remember Mom and how the doctors just couldn’t believe she was still with us? The Lord will sustain you and help you to fulfill your purpose in life. I love you!

  4. Chalice says:

    You are a very blessed woman . . . we love you, Melanie! We as sisters, family and friends are having a 5K walk down here in Glendale AZ next week to have our spirits join with yours and the people in Utah. Good positive energy coming your way!

    Beautiful as always . . . you are amazing, Melanie.

    • Chalice,

      Thanks for organizing the spirit of support from Arizona! Please get a few pictures to send me and I will put them on the blog!

      Sure love you…being patient and making baby steps everyday!

      Love, Melanie

  5. Amy Turner says:

    Melanie,
    I love you. I wish I could come over and see you in person. Your blog inspires me and reminds me that it’s okay to have trials. I loved your description of nausea 🙂 (BTW, your fuzz is cute and you have a beautifully shaped head.) I’m thinking of and praying for you as I lay here watching the IV drip in.

    P.S. Do you need any Zofran? Is that what they prescribed for your nausea? I have close to an entire bottle (it would have to be injected or administered IV). I stopped using it because it doesn’t decrease the nausea or vomiting for me. I’ll have Cory bring it over if it would be useful for you. XOXOXO Amy

  6. Joy Baxley says:

    Melanie, I am Phyllis’ daughter who lives in Glendale, Az (Olivia’s mom). In Relief Society this morning we sang hymn #285 “God Moves in Mysterious Ways” and I was impressed to share with you verses 2 and 3:
    Melanie, ‘…fresh courage take;
    The clouds ye so much dread
    Are big with mercy and shall break
    In blessings on your head.
    His purposes will ripen fast,
    Unfolding ev’ry hour;
    The bud may have a bitter taste,
    But sweet will be the flower.”
    I appreciate you sharing your experiences, I have been uplifted by your faith, courage, and remarkable hope and positive-ness. Chalice emailed me this link and it has been a blessing in my life to log on and read your posts. Thank you for sharing your experiences. We have been and will continue to pray for your health and your family.
    Joy

    • Joy,
      So great to hear from you! We’ve seen Olivia a couple time and so enjoyed visiting with her little family! Thanks for your prayers and support. Love the hymn too. Hope you don’t mind if I share it generally on the blog!
      Love to your family…melanie

  7. Michele says:

    Very nice pic! Jon looks so happy! Gotta love those dimples!

Leave a Reply

