Sabbath Thanks!

The Sabbath is becoming more and more a day of thanksgiving.  I’m so grateful for the opportunity to be among faithful people, singing the hymns, and feeling the Spirit as I look at the faces of those in my ward family whom I love.  I want so much to reach out to those where I see a need, and hope the Lord will be patient with me as I recover, so there will still be service opportunities for me!

Jon was very resourceful and found a recumbent bike from a former student.  They are easier to sit on and pedal, and he was determined to get me some physical therapy.  We went for a bike ride last night.  I enjoyed it, and came home exhausted!…mission accomplished!

Reclining and Exercising!

A friend from Arizona, Joy Baxley sent the verse of the hymn #285 “God Moves in Mysterious Ways verses 2 and 3:
‘…fresh courage take;
The clouds ye so much dread
Are big with mercy and shall break
In blessings on your head.
His purposes will ripen fast,
Unfolding ev’ry hour;
The bud may have a bitter taste,
But sweet will be the flower.”

I’m grateful I can taste some of that “Sweet flower” even now!  Love to all…  Melanie

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Sabbath Thanks!

  1. julie smith says:

    Melanie, You continue to amaze and inspire us! I believe you are the very epitome of the 2010 Mutual Theme, “Be Strong And of A Good Courage; Be Not Afraid, Neither Be Thou Dismayed For The lord Thy God is With thee Whithersoever Thou Goest”
    Joshua 1:9
    Thanks for demonstrating courage and faith every day. We love and miss you in YW and we are looking forward to your run on saturday!

    I have a cute pillow in my bedroom that says:
    Strong Women; may we know them, may we raise them, may we be them.
    You are one of the Lords strongest !
    Sent with admiration and love , Julie Smith

  2. christy says:

    You looked so beautiful today! So good to see you at church. Thank you for your sweet call. It meant so much to me. Love you!

  3. Melanie –

    You probably don’t know who I am. I have met you a few times before as your kids have taken piano from my mother – Phyllis Rosen. My name is Stephanie Brown, and I just wanted you to know how inspiring your blog is. I am currently living in Beijing, China – and yet with the wonderful technology and internet am able to read your blog. I am so inspired by it and want you to know how truly uplifting it is. I enjoy your scripture references, your quotes, and little reminders of what to be grateful for in this life. You are an inspiration, and actually even before this you have inspired me. I used to go running at the BYU track years ago with my mom sometimes. I remember often seeing you there running with Mary Rasband. I remember always thinking to myself I wish i could run as fast as you, and that I wish I was as skinny and fit and in shape as you are. So even back then, without knowing it you inspired me. I also especially loved the post you put about dancing with your husband in the kitchen – that especially touched me and I read it to my husband and made him dance with me (probably against his will) but it was so fun! You have a way of making everything sound so positive and uplifting and I am so grateful to be able to read this blog and for the boost it gives me each day. I wish there were some way I could repay you and serve you back….maybe when we come back to the states next month I can do something! I wish I were there to run in the 5k. Since I can’t be – I am just making this promise to myself that I will run a 5k that day here on the treadmill at my gym. I will be thinking of you! I wanted to share a hymn that has given me so much peace and that I always turn to when I need a boost during hard times. It is the lyrics to “Where Can I Turn for Peace”. It is my favorite hymn, and I love all 3 verses so I include them all.

    Where can I turn for peace?
    Where is my solace
    When other sources cease to make me whole?
    When, with a wounded heart, anger, or malice
    I draw myself apart searching my soul?

    Where, when my aching grows?
    Where, when I languish?
    Where, in my need to know?
    Where can I run?
    Where is the quiet hand to calm my anguish?
    Who, who can understand?
    He, only One.

    He answers privately.
    Reaches my reaching.
    In my Gethsemane, Savior, and friend.
    Gentle, the peace He finds
    For my beseeching.
    Constant He is, and kind.
    Love without end.

    I love that the first verse is all questions, and that then by the 3rd it is all answers that our Heavenly Father loves us and is watching out for us. I truly know he is watching out for us and has a plan. I am grateful for the gospel that gives us such a great perspective, especially when we have to endure hard trials like what you are going through. Thanks again for sharing your thoughts, your beautiful pictures, and your story for this blog. I hope I am not imposing by looking at it. I truly am uplifted and feel “buoyed up” as you often mention when I read this. I wish you the best.

    • Stephanie,
      Thank you so much for your inspiring thoughts! I absolutely love your mother and treasure her friendship. Your Mom speaks so highly of you, and is proud of you. We were in Beijing last year. Were you there then? Would have been fun to connect with a fellow Provo person. Hope living in Beijing is not too difficult. I’m sure you are homesick. (I would be homesick for American food–the food in Southern China is much better than Beijing!) Thanks again…Love Melanie

  4. DeLite says:

    Hey Melanie,
    Not many people can look graceful on a reclining bicycle–how do you do it! I’m glad you’re getting out a bit and getting some exercise! DeLite

  5. Andrya says:

    Melanie, Sandee posted a link to your blog from hers. I thought it was just some random blog at first but a few photos in and I recognized you. Maybe it was because we had just watched the family video of when our fourth baby was born and you came over to see him that day. So I caught you on film and had been thinking of you ever since.

    If you don’t remember, that’s ok. We lived across the street from the condos back in 98 and 99. I can’t believe Kalani is a teenager now and not the cute little girl in nursery who stole my heart.

    I’m sorry to hear of trials and disappointments for you, but happy to hear of courage and faith and friendships. Best wishes.
    Andrya Lewis

Leave a Reply

