General Conference and Pumpkins

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

These pictures are from my sisters in Arizona who went on a hike the morning of September 25th to support Miles for Melanie.  Thank you, Thank you, Thank you for everyone’s love and support!

Elder Holland’s talk this morning was humble and thankful.  I suggest listening to it on the church website, if you missed it.  He’s one of those speakers that hearing him is so much more powerful than reading his talk.  He took the words right out of my mouth, thanking all the individual service of church members and the service provided by all the auxiliaries.

I love the sense of community family I feel from all of you. I love and cherish frienships and everything people have done to serve our family.

When the men were at Priesthood meeting, Kim, Alyson, me, and our kids went to pick out pumpkins at the “pumpkin patch” (a house with awesome pumpkins-warty ones, almost red ones, white ones, mini pumpkins, and, as Andrew calls them, long “hot dog” pumpkins.)

Kai had a soccer game this morning and Kalani finished up the Tri-Region Tennis tournament today.  Both Kalani and Kai won.  Kalani will be going to State next weekend.  Last night Kalani was sick as a dog -throwing up, and then she got in the car after the match and threw up in her bucket.  We’re hoping it was food poisoning, but who knows.  I hope it’s not the flu because I’d rather not get that!

I felt happy and playful today–not that I could play very much, maybe it was because I got twelve hours of sleep last night.   I’m sharing a silly poem about hair loss I got from Heather Nemelka.

Hair – Who Needs it?  Attitude is EVERYTHING

There once was a woman who woke up one morning, looked in the mirror, and notice she had only three hairs on her head.  “Well,” she said.  “I think I’ll braid my hair today.” So she did and she had a wonderful day.

The next day she woke up, looked in the mirror, and saw that she had only two hairs on her head.  “Hmm,” she said.  “I think I’ll part my hair down the middle today.”  So she did and had a grand day.

The next day she woke up, looked in the mirror, and noticed that she had only one hair on her head.  “Well she said.  “Today I’m going to wear my hair in a ponytail.”  She did and had a fun, fun day.

The next day she woke up, looked in the mirror, and noticed that there wasn’t a  single hair on her head.  “Yeah!” she exclaimed.  “I don’t have to fix my hair today!”

OK, my energy only last so long and I’m pretty tired now.   I love life, I love the gospel. I love our Savior, I love the faith and hope I feel from this knowledge, and am strengthened so much by all the people around me who have faith and hope as well.  I believe in, and expect miracles!  Love to all—Melanie

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to General Conference and Pumpkins

  1. Amber says:

    love the hair poem….what a great way to look at it!!! Love you Melanie!

  2. Chalice says:

    Love you, Melanie! It’s still over 100 degrees here in Phoenix area. Looking forward to cool weather on my visit up to see you this week.

  3. Mary Owen says:

    I am acquainted with your blog through my family in Provo. I am so inspired and motivated by your faith and attitude, and I am touched by the many acts of kindness shown you. I am not fighting the same battles as you, but your posts are a reminder to me of just how blessed we are — whatever our struggles are. Big or small. And that we all are children of a Heavenly Father who loves each one of us and hurts when we do.

  4. Julie Markham says:

    The hair story is perfect for everyone. I love your perspective.

Leave a Reply

