Running…?

Jillian picking pumpkins

Today was the first day I ran–just from my front door to Alyson’s driveway, and it was only a jog, but it felt so good!  I am doing more each week and feeling a lot stronger.  Still fighting to put some more weight on, but at least I’m not still losing weight!

It’s also the first day in over four months I’ve put a pair of jeans on.  It wasn’t nearly as scary as I thought it would be.  It actually made me feel a little more put together.

It was great to have my sister Michele here with Tanner. They left this morning.  Christy Agle took Michele and me to the airport.  It was fun to have time to visit with Christy on the way home.  It was Timpview lunch time when we got back, so we took Kalani and Christy’s daughter, Amanda to lunch at Jason’s Deli.  I was happy I had enough energy to enjoy myself with Christy and our daughters in a noisy restaurant!

I feel well enough to go with Kala to Park City on Thursday night to Saturday morning.  He has a Utah Housing Authority Board retreat, so the kids are going to Grandma and Grandpa’s and I’ll just read books and relax in Park City (not something my personality would allow me to do ever before.)  I’m actually looking forward to taking all the pressure off for a few days and just letting myself relax!

I found this quote from President Gordon B. Hinckley in the church program for the First Ward:  “‘We thank thee O God for a prophet to guide us in these latter-days.’  Let us always follow that guidance.  If we will try with faith and prayer and resolution, we can accomplish great good, especially for our own souls…May we place our trust in our Father in Heaven, to go forth with willing, subdued hearts, that we may be worthy of his blessings.”  I’m so grateful for the opportunity to live the gospel, and be surrounded by so many who are truly doing far more than I was to serve and love others.  I love and pray for each of you!   Melanie

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Running…?

  1. annie grow says:

    Just letting you know that I love reading your blog and love you!

  2. Tiffany Roush Mehner says:

    So happy you will have a little “retreat” with your husband. I will see you when you get back. 🙂 Ben, Eli, Sam & I will be in Utah sometime Thursday night. Can’t wait to visit. Love you!

Leave a Reply

