Humbly Grateful!

 

Kawena carved a pumpkin last night (Obviously, last years photo by Tim)

 

So grateful for a beautiful day!  Of course, for the freezing cold snow and wind, I could wait til December!  Kala and Kai were out raking leaves tonight in the cold.

Yesterday, as we told our children the good news there was such an obvious burden lifted from their shoulders.  I was so happy to see them relieved, but it’s hard for a mother to be the cause of worry and concern to her children.  I’m supposed to be their support and helper!

I’ve not been tired as today, and have felt good otherwise, which means I’m getting used to the Zometa bone hardening treatments.  Which makes me happy because I go back for the whole series (MRI, CT,  and Zometa) again in a month!  Dr. Rich wants to follow this closely for a while to make sure everything is still going in the right direction.

I read a great article in the Church News:

“Though it costs nothing, it will save us money.  It will add to our friends and perhaps retrieve lost friends and family members.  It will lower our anxiety levels and allow us to concentrate more fully.  It will strengthen us immeasurably.  We will seek to overcome our own weaknesses, instead of dwelling on the weaknesses of others…In the broadest sense, it flattens our horizons; we see a broader view of reality that we will “know the truth and the truth shall make you free.” (John 8:32)  So what is it we speak of?  It is humility, a surpassing gift from God.  Sometimes called ‘humble pie.’  It is a diet without calories that can be eaten for spiritual nutrition at breakfast lunch and dinner…We can, as Alma 7:23 suggests:  ‘be humble, and be submissive and gentle; easy to be entreated full of patience and long-suffering;being temperate in all things; being diligent in keeping the commandments of God at all times; asking for whatever things ye stand in need, both spiritual and temporal; always returning thanks unto God for whatsoever things ye do receive.”

I feel so humbled by this experience and the service and support I have received. It’s interesting how I realize how much more I need to let go of all pride, and I’m so grateful for the lessons learned from you, who have served me.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Humbly Grateful!

  1. Julie Markham says:

    You’ve posted pictures with no hair on your blog — I do believe you have definitely let go of all pride! This experience of yours has been deeply humbling for me as I have prayed for you.

  2. Chalice says:

    Congratulations, Melanie. I’m so glad it’s working out so well. You are truly blessed. We love you!

Leave a Reply

