Sweet 16 Halloween Birthday Party

Kalani had a surprise 16th birthday Halloween party thrown by Julie Smith and Alecia Raymond.  We actually were able to pull off the “Surprise” part–so thanks to all the kids who helped keep the secret, and thanks to Julie for all her hard work.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I’ve had a few “Mary and Martha” experiences lately.  I’ve always been the “Martha”–busy, busy.  I couldn’t sit down if there was still work to do.   Tonight we were at Grandma and Grandpa Kau’s for dinner.  (So grateful for wonderful grandparents)  I felt well enough to help with dishes, but got tired, so sat down and Kala and the kids finished up with Grandma.  As the kids finished their chore they each came and gathered around me.  Kalani resting her head on my shoulder, Keala at my knees, Kai at the other knee, and Kawena at my other side.  I drank in the moment of receiving this love and affection from my children, because I never would have sat down long enough before to receive it!

Today is Halloween Day officially, but I am so grateful we are able to celebrate on Saturday in Utah.  But I will leave an appropriate Sunday Halloween message.

Being a good person is like being a pumpkin. God lifts you up, takes you in, and washes all the dirt off of you. He opens you up, touches you deep inside and scoops out all of the yucky stuff — including the seeds of doubt, hate, greed, etc. Then He carves you a bright new smiling face and puts His light inside of you to shine for all the world to see. This was passed on to me from another pumpkin.

Have A Happy Fall!

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sweet 16 Halloween Birthday Party

  1. Chalice says:

    Happy Fall to you to. What a party for Kalani. So nice to have friends and spend time with them. We love you. I’m so glad you’re doing so well. You are an amazing woman.

Leave a Reply

