Gamma Knife is done–I’m Alive!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The doctor said the procedure went very well, but no way to tell how successful until I get another mri in 6 weeks.  I feel so blessed to have the opportunity to get the gamma knife treatment, I can’t help but feel confident that it’s going to clear those tumors!

I have some pain where the screws were attached to my head tonight, but not terrible headaches.  I may get those in the coming weeks, but they shouldn’t last very long–maybe a couple of days.  I came home from the hospital and took a nap, slept so soundly it was dark when I got up, and the clock said it was 6:30.  Jon was milling around like he was getting ready for work and Kalani came into the room with a towel on her head.  It took me a while to figure out it was 6:30 pm, instead of 6:30 am. –It’s been a long time since I’ve been that disoriented!

A friend who brought me a wonderful loaf of bread, Sarah Dorff gave me an inspirational scripture that many are familiar with, but I love it.  She said she modified it slightly–

My daughter, be faithful in Christ; and may not the things you have experienced grieve thee, to weigh thee own unto death; but may Christ lift thee up, and may his suffering, and the hope of his glory and of eternal life, rest in your mind forever.   And may the grace of God the Father, whose throne is high in the heavens, and our Lord Jesus Christ, who sitteth on the right hand of his power, until all things shall become subject unto him, be, and abide with you forever. Amen—- Moroni 9:25,26

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Gamma Knife is done–I’m Alive!

  1. Julie Markham says:

    It’s one thing to have faith in God. Totally different experience to have faith in a doctor who puts screws into your head! I’m glad this is behind you.

  2. annie grow says:

    I was praying and thinking about you all day yesterday and was so happy when I saw Kai at Harry Potter last night cause I figured, if he’s here then Melanie is okay. Love you Melanie!

  3. Chalice says:

    I’m so glad things went well. Thanks for the pictures of your journey. I love you and pray for your recovery.

  4. Julie Wilcox says:

    Wow – modern medicine is amazing!!! So grateful for you attitude – it helps me in so many ways – Love ya, Julie

  5. Rebekah:D says:

    I am so glad everything went well! We love you and play for you daily.
    <3Rebekah

  6. sandee says:

    Ok, can I say OUCH@? We think of you and your family often. Your journey outlined in this blog gives much strength. And even if I would have met you now, with no hair, I would have guessed that you are a red head…keep fighting!

Leave a Reply

