A Day that Starts and Ends with blessings

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I thought I better post some happy pictures after the “Frankenstein” series!

Did I mention that sometimes it feels like everyday is my birthday…This morning I woke up to a lovely gift on the kitchen counter.   I opened it to see Colleen Brown had made a beautiful book of Kai’s soccer season.  She’s a great photographer, and I cried and laughed with Kai as we enjoyed the pictures.  Thank you Colleen for your thoughtful and treasured gift!

I feel the God given (Doctor supported) gift of feeling better.  I was worried I would be down for a while after the gamma knife, but I keep feeling better.  With this disease at first you’re not sure whether it’s so great to be alive, then came the phase of I’m grateful to be alive, then I started to feel human again, and now I feel like I can be a Mom again!  I have to take each day as it comes, and I am grateful!

This afternoon Kala and I had the “once in a lifetime” opportunity to watch the football game from the President’s Loge.  We felt very spoiled and had a great time.  We were on the Fifty yard line in a warm cozy room, and lots of good food and friends!  Another wonderful blessing.

But that was not all.  We came home from the game, happy to have spent time together, and there was another gift for me on the kitchen counter.  Sheryl Wardrop picked up a new hat for me to be warm and fashionable (the hat in the pictures).  She is a kindred spirit, as she knows what it is like to go through a winter with no hair.  Thanks Sheryl!  We have new sympathy for bald men in the cold, and Mom’s—please put hats on little bald babies!

I can say I feel very spoiled and loved.  Friends are so good to me and I am continually humbled by the human capacity to love and care for one another.  Thanks to each of you for blessing my life–immeasurably!  Love, Melanie

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A Day that Starts and Ends with blessings

  1. Tiffany Strong says:

    You are such an amazing person and I love reading your posts each day.
    I pray that you and your family have a wonderful Thanksgiving and a good time with no school to worry about.
    Love, William and Tiffany Strong

  2. DeLite says:

    We’re so glad you’re still feeling well. I was worried that it would make you so nauseated again. Thanks heaven for good friends nearby! I’m so glad! DeLite

Leave a Reply

