Where Meek Souls will Receive Him

On Friday, Arlene Conley and I made toffee together.  We had a great time, and she’s got a good strong toffee stirring arm!  I include a picture of me, only because I hope it shows that my face is filling out a little bit.  I have gained about 8 pounds since my lowest weight–feeling stronger and grateful to enjoy food again!

What a beautiful Sabbath Day!  We were blessed to have an apostle, Neal A. Andersen with us in Sacrament Meeting today.  He is so humble and he blessed our ward so much–with the wonderful spirit he brings!  Kalani played “O Holy Night” on the harp in Sacrament Meeting and it was lovely.  I’m so grateful she shared her talent today.  Performing is not her favorite thing to do, but she did it.

For dinner we went to Grandma and Grandpa Kau’s  and the kids got  to play with the Rockenbach system Grandpa and Kai set up.  It’s a Christmas tradition to set it up and play over the holidays.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I loved singing Christmas hymns today, and was particularly touched by some of the lines in “O Little Town of Bethlehem.”  I loved:

“Yet in the dark streets shineth the everlasting Light.  The hopes and fears of all the years are met in thee tonight.  How Silently, how silently the wondrous gift is giv’n!  So God imparts to human hearts the blessing of his heav’n.  No ear may hear his coming, but in the world of sin, Where meek souls will receive him, still the dear Christ enters in.”

I’m struck with the humble, silent, complete lack of “pomp and circumstance” of the birth of our Savior, and pray we will recognize the wonderful gift.  That we can be quiet in our hearts and meek in our souls so the light and love of Christ will be in all our hearts and shared with others!–Love to all, Melanie

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Where Meek Souls will Receive Him

  1. Heather Fenn says:

    it is so fun to see and hear all your different Christmas Traditions. I am sure your kids when they get married will do them 2. I remember making Gingerbread house with my mom growing up. We would make them and then give them to our teachers at school. I am so glad to hear that you are feeling Better and getting to so of the fun christmas stuff with your kids!! I love the Idea about the real manger by the tree. It is so neat that you got to do it with your dad. I am sure that is a memory that u will treasure always. Hope u have wonderful christmas.

  2. Amber McLain says:

    Oh yaaay……i love to hear someone say they are excited about GAINING weight! And may i just say YOU LOOK BEAUTIFUL!!! I get excited to hear that you are doing well. I miss you, I love you, and think of you often. My prayers are constant in your behalf. Enjoy the holidays – May they be merry and bright!

Leave a Reply

