For Unto Us a Son is Given

I apologize I haven’t updated the blog for a week!–Not for lack of wonderful experiences-just busy being Mom and enjoying every moment!  On Monday, Kalani had a harp recital at Jamestown.  She played in several harp ensembles and a couple of solos.  It was lovely!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

On Tuesday, Kala had his work Christmas party.  It’s always great food, but the hi-light of the evening was the music by performers who play the part of Mary and Joseph in the Savior of the World-spanish version.  They are both BYU students.  They were very talented, and the music touched my heart.

On Thursday, I had a special date with my girls.  The four of us went up to the Tabernacle Choir with David Archuletta.  David and the Choir were spectacular!  We loved it!  I also couldn’t help notice the difference in how much better I felt than when Keala and I went for the General Relief Society Meeting.  It was a good measure to see I’ve come so far in gaining strength and energy.

On Friday I had one of those mornings where if it can go wrong–it will.  Everything I touched seemed to turn to disaster.   I tried to start a fire in our wood burning stove and managed to fill the house with smoke and set off all the fire alarms.   I had to open all the doors and windows.  The temperature in our house went down to 48 degrees before I dared close the windows and doors.  The fireplace flue was open, so I don’t know what happened.  After the fire disaster, I spilled a large portion of a 25 pound bag of rice all over the floor, and then burned something on the stove.  At that point I was thinking I should just go back to bed and start over.  I had planned to make some toffee and was afraid for the disaster that would bring, but I was able to get myself together and be productive later in the day.

Friday evening we went to the Elder’s Quorum party and it was fun to visit with friends.  I actually made some chicken corn chowder to take for the party.

Our Ward Choir performed the Christmas program today, and I had a lump in my throat the whole time as I listened to the beautiful music and the testimony of the Savior conveyed in word and song.

Here’s a Christmas thought– “The word became flesh and made his dwelling among us.  We have seen his glory, the glory of the One and Only, who came from the Father, full of grace and truth.”  –John 1:14  Imagine Christ saying goodbye to the Father in the pre-earth life, knowing what he was signing up to do in this life.!  I’m so grateful for his willingness to put up with the world for each of our sakes.  Merry Christmas and may the love of the Season grow larger in each of our hearts!—love, Melanie

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to For Unto Us a Son is Given

  1. DeLite says:

    Sounds like you have had an eventful week–it’s that time of year! Sorry we have been so busy here, we haven’t taken the time to write or call, but you’re still in our prayers. Hope you have a very merry Christmas!

  2. Rebekah Clegg says:

    Merry Christmas! We miss you and are glad you are feeling a bit better!
    :DRebekah

  3. Carl Clegg says:

    Christmas cheers to all the Kau’s from us Cleggs. Hoping you have a warm Christmas with family near. God bless you all.

Leave a Reply

