Scans show my condition is stable

Yesterday’s MRI and CT scan went well.  Dr. Clark called us yesterday so we didn’t have to drive all the way to American Fork.  He said the CT scan looked the same as the one in October, so the cancer hasn’t shrunk, but it’s not growing either!  Dr. Clark is the radiation doctor, so was particularly interested in the MRI and the results of the gamma knife.  He said there is still a lot of brain swelling, so it’s hard to tell what’s happening with the tumors–none are growing, but he thinks we will get a more accurate picture in another six weeks.  So not the “You are cured” miracle I was hoping for, but definitely positive news that the disease is under control.

It’s New Year’s Eve and I’m grateful to be here with my family and loved ones.   I love having a new year to “begin again.”  A new year to correct at least some of my failings, and one of them will be to enjoy the moment, and not always be in such a hurry to get everything done at the expense of enjoying these last few years when we have our children still at home.  I found a great poem from Ralph  Spaulding Cushman:

I Will Not Hurry

I will not hurry through this day!

Lord I will listen by the way,

To humming bees and singing birds,

To speaking trees and friendly words;

And for the moment in between

Seek glimpses of Thy great Unseen.

I will not hurry through this day;

I will take time to think and pray,

I will look up into the sky,

Where fleecy clouds and swallows fly;

And somewhere in the day, maybe

I will catch whispers, Lord, from thee!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Scans show my condition is stable

  1. Arlene says:

    Happy New Year Melanie and Family! I am still praying for you. Thank you for the update. I always have you in my thoughts and prayers. I wish you all the best in the new year. Love to you,
    Arlene

  2. Julie Markham says:

    This is the best news!

  3. Natalie Jones says:

    Thanks for the update Melanie, I’ve been on pins and needles… It’s good news that the cancer hasn’t grown. True to form you are once again taking the positive view of the situation. Happy New Year to you and your family.
    Love you!
    Natalie

  4. Debbie says:

    Thank you Mel for your beautiful, hopeful attitude. It is so important to enjoy all the simple moments with our families. I’m so relieved that you are stable and the spots in your brain haven’t grown. I’m also grateful for your presence in my life. Happy New Year friend. Love you, Deb

  5. Lisa Davis says:

    Melanie,
    I have loved reading your blog these last several months. You are such an inspiration to me. I miss seeing you at GAP but it is fun to see and get to know your daughter. She is darling. You look so beautiful in this picture with your husband and I am so happy that things are looking up. I pray that you continue to heal and beat this nasty disease and that you are here to see all you kids grown and lots of grandkids one day.

  6. DeLite says:

    Good news! Sometimes it takes time for the radiation to take effect, so no growth is GREAT! Thanks for the poems. Too easy to forget–we seem to fill our time with “things” of little import and then they take over. The children are grown and gone too soon. Love you!

Leave a Reply

