Sunny and Seventy Degrees

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

In Vegas the important thing was time with my son and husband, but it was great for Kai to come home tournament champions!  We had some evening games that were pretty cold, but yesterday’s final was seventy degrees and sunny.  Kai and Kala both got a little bit of sun while I stayed under an umbrella.  It’s hard to believe I was so warm yesterday as I sit typing in my cold family room–cold fingers, toes, and nose.  For the first time I truly understand “Snow birds” and why they leave in the winter.  The reason to stay in the cold would be great skiing, but I think I’ve convinced myself to give up the idea of learning to ski.  When my kids were little, I always went with them, but stayed on the ‘bunny hill’.  Now I’d just be too cold.  I guess I can think of lots of things to spend money on before I’d spend it learning to ski!  Not that I have the strength for skiing yet, but I can tell my priorities have shifted a little.

While we were gone.  We did miss all our family, friends, and neighbors at home, and it was nice to come home where we belong.  Isn’t it wonderful to have treasured friends around you?  At the beginning of 2011 I am particularly grateful for friends.  My friend, Arlene Conley gave me this beautiful quote about friendship from George Eliot.

“Friendship is the comfort, the inexpressible comfort of feeling safe with a person having neither to weigh thoughts nor measure words, but pouring all right out just as they are, chaff and grain together, certain that a faithful, friendly hand will take and sift them, keep what is worth keeping, and with a breath of comfort blow the rest away.”

Life is beautiful because of the people around me and God’s wonderful plan! –Love to all, Melanie

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Sunny and Seventy Degrees

  1. Crystalee Beck says:

    Oh, I love you Auntie!
    What a blessing you are, and how grateful I am that you’re sharing your journey to recovery with all of us. I love to read your thoughts and to see the events on a daily basis at the Kau home. I appreciate and love you a whole whole bunch!

    hugs,
    LeeLee

    • Crystalee,

      Love you! Thanks for even caring what’s happening at the Kau home! I am still so grateful you have Ryan and live close enough that we get to see you! Have a great week and now you are loved!

      Auntie

  2. Charlene Stewart says:

    Hi Melanie! I just had to check again and see how things were going. We love positive! Tell Kai congratulations on the championship.

Leave a Reply

