Melia Kawena a Spelling B Winner!

My next scans are scheduled for March 7.  That’s a long time to wait when I am waiting to hear the “all’s clear” in the brain.  But we are patient if nothing else!

Melia with Mrs. Anderson. Principal, and Mrs Heldenbrand, teacher

I was hesitant to share the Spelling B news in this format–Please forgive me if I’m a bragging parent, but it’s so great to celebrate children’s accomplishments!  I figured this was too fun of news to ignore –Melia Kawena won the Canyon Crest Spelling B.  She won on “balminess”,”jaundice”, and” ascending.”  I was very proud of her cool composure!  The Spelling B is a tough competition and there were many really good spellers.  I think every one of those kids is a winner!

There was an article  on virtue and ethics in the paper which questioned our society’s motivations for goodness, or evil.  The society we live in trains us in how we view service and unselfishness.  I’m grateful for the  “master’s” training my family has received in serving each other, and loving your neighbor.  It’s so cold outside, but there is warmth and love found in our homes, and among friends.  It gives me great hope for the spring we know is coming, and the greater love of the Savior, we all have opportunity to share.–Love to all–Melanie

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Melia Kawena a Spelling B Winner!

  1. Tiffany Strong says:

    Seeing you beaming yesterday brought tears to my eyes. At faculty meeting that day Jennifer shared with everyone the news, and also said that Melia is such a deserving and great student to win. We all agreed and then all said that the best part was not only seeing her win, but seeing you there to support her. Tears and all.
    I am so honored that you would wear my mom’s angel pin. She is watching over you, and I promise that she is making sure that you are being cared for.
    Much love to you and congrats again!

    • Tiffany,

      I was so touched to receive one of your mother’s running with angels pin. I love it. You are such a great support and inspiration. You looked so darling the other day, and I’m happy for you and Will. –a lucky boy coming to the Strong family!

      Sure love you, Melanie

  2. Arlene says:

    Congratulations! She is such a doll and so smart! Just like you. I am thinking of you as always and wanted to let you know that you are in our prayers. Sending love and positive energy. Love you lots and lots. It is so fun to share in your joy with your children so always post the good things happening to you and yours. I know I enjoy reading the news.

    • Arlene,

      Thanks for your very generous, encouraging comments. We sure appreciate and love you! Hope all is going well with your family, and Clayton is settling into return-missionary life. We love you! XOxo Melanie

  3. Megan Clark says:

    It was great to see you at the school on Friday. Congrats to Melia. She is such a cute girl. Drew was so happy for her.

  4. Jessie says:

    Seriously so proud of her! That is amazing! Especially because I’m the worst at spelling:)

Leave a Reply

