Dr Visit and Zometa bone Hardening today

I visited Dr. Beck, a woman, who is fillling in for Dr. Rich.  We talked about kids and cancer, and how they are feeling.  Life becomes more fragile–even for them. The Zometa went well today.  My veins have been hard to get into lately because they are thick and I’m told they “Spaz” a little when nurses try to set the needle.  Today’s went very well, and my arm doesn’t even hurt!  Often the needle hurts the whole time it’s in there and then for days after as well.

The scans were good of chest and abdomen.  The cancer is stable, so the Tarceva becomes maintenance medicine.  I filled a minocycline perscription for the Tarceva rash.  Then I came home and cleaned up in the backyard for about 1 1/2 hours.  It felt good to be  outside and the yard looks much better.  Spring time is coming!!

Our roof is over 30 years old and needs to be replaced.  The last few years, I’ve crawled onto the roof to replace shingles that blew off in winter, but I think the time has come just to get a new roof.  We are getting three estimates and will then decide on affordability.

I’m speaking in Stake Conference  for the Saturday night adult session.  I will speak on Strengthening Families through Adversity. I’ve spent hours working on the talk-sometimes in the middle of the night when steroids are keeping me awake.  Kala is helping me synthesize everything and help it flow.  I will be glad when it is over!

My sweet friend, Tifany in CA sent me a quote from Marjorie Hinckley that many of us have heard, but I love it. “We are all in this together.  We need each other, Oh, how we need each other.  Those of us who are old, need you who are young.  And, hopefully, you who are young need some of us who are old.  It is a sociological fact that women need women.  We need deep and satisfying and loyal friendships with each other.  These friendships are a necessary source of sustenance. ”

Thank you to all of you for being my true, valued, beloved friends.  I do need you!    –Melanie

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Dr Visit and Zometa bone Hardening today

  1. Rebekah Clegg says:

    I’m glad you’re feeling better! I’m glad spring is coming too, it was so warm today, and the flowers are coming up!
    Love ya!
    ♥Rebekah

  2. Brad says:

    I’m excited for tomorrow night’s stake conference session. Can’t wait to hear your talk!

  3. Julie says:

    I’m really looking forward to hearing you speak tomorrow!

  4. Heather Fenn says:

    Glad to hear u r feeling better. I know u will do well tomorrow in your talk. Wish i could be there 2 hear it. U are a true shinning example of how to handle rough times. i like spring too . nice weather can spend time with family outdoors ect. Thank you for being such a great friend and a wonderful example to us all.

  5. Arlene says:

    Your talk in conference was inspiring and helpful. I am so grateful to be your friend. I love you…continue getting better!

  6. yuko rohan says:

    Hi Melanie and all: We have been reading your blog, following your progress and activities of your family. We are really wishing you well and praying you are all coping with what must be very stressful. My family in Japan are all fine although my cousin Yumiko will be visiting us soon to get away from Tokyo problems. Sean is working for
    NOAA as marine biologist down at sand point. He shall be going to Bering Sea for a 3
    week research studying pollock sometime in late spring. Misa will be going to Western
    Washington University in the fall, her first choice, to put distance from parents. She
    originally wanted to apply to toronto (yes canada) but we nixed that. Please be well
    Love Yuko

Leave a Reply

